Home

The Single Girl is out to stretch her Single legs for a while and revisit the begrudgingly familiar intersection of Life Lane and Career Path.

The Single Girl is actively trying to make her next career move. An opportune lunch recently gave me a glimpse into Big Law Firm life. I haven’t necessarily wanted to go there prior to now, but if I’m already putting in the same kind of hours, why not get paid like it, right? And with any luck, I will become a better practitioner along the way.

The next few minutes after lunch, the conversation played out in the Single Girl’s head like so:

  • Self: “Well, there you have it. You get the career, and can simultaneously nail the coffin shut on ever getting married and having a family. Who would want to start courting a Single Girl on a partnership track in Big Law if he wants a family?”

It was a one-sided chiding, really.

And then I recalled one of my newly found favorite blogs: Truth and Cake. Rian put forth a very delightful discussion about the major components in your life by asking “What Did You Give Up, To Get What You Got?

What I know is that I don’t want to be Oprah — I don’t want a jet-setting career, to the exclusion of a family. But, being the Single Girl, I feel compelled to have to travel down the Career Path because I don’t have the family or husband thing going. I am blessed with a great group of friends… so that component is solidly in my court. But I think I would give up other components to achieve the ones I want. (Don’t get me wrong… I am fully aware that it is near impossible to have them all. Not my goal.)

I suppose I should also channel more of Truth and Cake’s words, though, and consider the journey and experience. Perhaps it’s not my time to embark on husband and family. Perhaps the Plan has me doing something else meaningful and worthwhile for the time being. So, with a reluctant sigh, I sit back and take a long, hard look down Career Path, and maybe it’s not such a bumpy road, after all.

~M

Retro Re-post of the day: Buckeye Blues (or, Living the Dream)

2 thoughts on “This Part of the Journey (or, Closing Doors?)

  1. Hi Emerson, I’m so glad you liked my post and were able to use it as a jumping off point for your own musings. It does seem that life has seasons– sometimes work is a priority and other times love, or children. But if you know what you really want on that list, don’t lose sight of it. Keep the windows open, so to speak. I met my husband when I was least expecting it, but I’d also stopped forcing the issue and was pursuing personal fulfillment (pretty high on my list of priorities, even now). I think a lot of pretty fantastic guys would want to “court” a succesful, partner-track lawyer! And maybe you wouldn’t be interested in a guy who wouldn’t see that aspect of your life as attractive? Who knows where any of us will be in a year, right? It’s all about taking chances and trusting our instincts. It’s nice to “meet” you 🙂 I really enjoyed your post, and I wish you lots of luck as you make these challenging (and exciting) decisions.

Leave a Reply

