Home

Call me cute. Giggly. Bubbly. And maybe even silly.
Pinch my arm. Pull my hair.
Steal a kiss on my cheek and run away.
Call me cute today.

Call me pretty.
Send me notes. Call my house and hang up.
Or even, drive by every day.
Hold my hand, and bring me a corsage.
And call me pretty, please.

Call me beautiful.
Pursue me. Date me.
Impress me with your silly ploys.
Tell me stories and paint the sky, and tell me
that none of it compares as to when you
Call me beautiful.

Call me elegant.
Comment on my depth and grace.
Court me. Woo me. Let me stand tall at your side
as together we pass by this way.
Call me elegant this day.

Call me regal, ardent, wise.
But call me also neat. And fun.
Esteem my sense of self. Admire my elan.
Join me in this journey, so long as you can stand to.
But when the day is done, and it’s just you and me, it’s okay to still
Call me pretty.

~M

4 thoughts on “Lady Grace (or, Call Me Pretty)

  1. What Abby said!

    Loved all of it, my favourite is how you summed it all up, “…Join me in this journey, so long as you can stand to. But when the day is done, and it’s just you and me, it’s okay to still Call me pretty.”

Leave a Reply

