Home

The Single Girl is officially Single once again. Actually, I’ve been holding out on y’all: for the last six months, I thought I had found my happily ever after. But, alas, with a heavy heart I return to the frog pool to find my true prince.

My sad story aside, however, I have been reminded of a psychosomatic phenomenon: the heavy heart. Or, heartache.

What in the world is actually going on inside one’s body to cause the feeling of heartache? It’s not a feeling that comes lightly; and it’s actually quite content to stick around for a spell. In fact, I wonder if there is any correlation between how long one suffers a heavy heart and when exactly you can say she has ‘gotten over’ the other person? Do those two things coincide with one another? That may be a handy way to really know when you are ready to move on.

But truly, though… what happens in such a sadness as to actually make the heart feel heavy? And who coined such an accurate phrase? I would like to shake her hand and let her know that others have gone the same way she too felt once.

I do know there is a cure for this illness. The doctor would say: “Take two ___ and call me in the morning.” That is… ‘days’ if it was a fling, ‘weeks’ if it was casual dating, and ‘months’ perhaps if it was longer. As cliché as it is, time really does seem to be the only cure for such an affliction.

The silver lining being, of course, that “once upon a time” gets another go, and the next time, maybe it will be right.

~M

Sometimes heavy hearts need space to heal.

Retro re-post of the day: Appropriate Attire Required

Retro re-post bonus: Pain and Suffering (or, a Sort of Parasitism)

updated 9/21/2011:
And of course, Post Secret provided an appropriate sentiment:

Leave a Reply

