Home
 

First snowshoe of the New Year. 1.8.2011.

 

My Dearest Michigan:

 

Cherry blossoms in spring rain. 4.25.2010.

I realize I have been one of the nay-sayers throughout the month of January. After all, the official weather calendar view only shows 2 days of actual sunshine. Six percent is a low percentage, no matter what the category, you must admit.

Crab apple tree & Spring storm. 5.9.2009.

But thank you for this past Sunday. The sky has never looked so blue, and the snow sparkled like a sheet of diamond dust. Thank you for rolling back the concrete lid and giving us some of that bright sun that is few and far between this time of year.

Star Class sailboats. Gull Lake. 6.25.2008.

 

 

I have a confession to make, though. I get a bit misty-eyed with each new “Pure Michigan” radio spot that comes on. This week, I caught “Head for the Hills” and smiled as it reminded me of my childhood skiing up north. With such a voluminous portfolio of awe-inspiring things, it’s no wonder the Pure Michigan campaign is so successful: it’s easy to sell perfection! 

Summer hay. 6.20.2007.

They tell me it’s only 44 days, or so, until spring. This makes me a little excited, as my magnolia tree has more buds on it this year than any past years I can remember. And after last year’s buffet of cherry, apple, and pear blossoms, I am elated to see what you have in store for this spring’s feast.

Au Sable River. 7.3.2005.

And can we expect another perfect summer, with 80 degree days and quiet, peeper-filled evenings? One of my favorite places in this world is sitting on the end of the dock at 6am in the middle of summer (before the heat descends, of course), cup of coffee (cream and sugar) in hand, watching the glassy lake sleep undisturbed as the world around it slowly wakes up.

Misty morning. 8.14.2009.

Speaking of things perfect in the summer, Crayola really ought to send a team here to create their next box. They could call it “the Michigan 64” (or something immensely more creative, as they are so good at naming). The emerald green leaves and grass sharing the horizon with an electric blue sky and crisp white gulls, cruising over brilliant lilies and delicate bittersweet near the shore. Oh, and perhaps the Crayola people could share a hotel room with the Yankee candle team, because the honeysuckle, dogwood, and lilacs turn the air alive with warmth and sweetness that is hard to remember in these winter months.

Summer sunset. 8.24.2009.

But, you do have your work cut out for you this year with autumn. I mean, we really had a bang-up Fall 2010 with warm-ish days, cool, star-filled nights with clear skies and a promise of good things to come with each kiss of fresh, crisp air. In fact, let me amend my prior thought… the Crayola people really just need to rent a place here for a few months because once you start the Maples off and running, by the time the Oaks catch up, our hillsides are ablaze for weeks. It’s the best wildfire a girl could ask for!

Sunrise. 9.25.2009.

 

And even when winter comes early sometimes, it really is okay. Because it’s these bright days that make the concrete lid seem almost tolerable the other 94% of the time.

Early snow. 10.12.2006.

So, Michigan, I apologize. I’m sorry for decrying the weather in January.

Autumn sunset, looking east. 10.16.2009.

The 2 days we had were glorious, and I know that there will be many more days where only in pure Michigan can I enjoy all of this. So thank you.

South Haven, late fall. 11.19.2009. 

With all my love,

~M

Good morning! 3.6.2010

4 thoughts on “My Dearest, I’m Sorry (or, A Love Letter to Michigan)

      • They’re gorgeous! I’m jealous of your scenery. All I see is snow. Well there’s beauty in it, but it’s too cold out to go find it.

      • Here’s the secret: winter is infinitely more beautiful when you are outside. True story. So put your woolies on and get out there! You can’t fully appreciate the sparkle of snow in the sun or the crystal coating on trees in the morning from inside. And besides, it will all be gone soon, anyway… so get out there and enjoy it!:-)

Leave a Reply

