Home

I am enraged. I am an Angry American. I am not talking about politics. I am referring to the state of our education, or apparent lack thereof.

This sign (above) made me nearly drive off the road the other night… and it wasn’t for the apparently good deal being advertised. What caused my consternation was not one, but two, glaring spelling errors on this marquee. And what surprises me even more is that this sign has not yet been fixed, a handful of days later. (I am silently suffering self-mental-flagellation for not stopping and correcting it earlier).

We all joined Sharon Eliza Nichols’ team when she published “I Judge You When You Use Poor Grammar” and even became Facebook Fans (some 437,896 strong), but I am about to rally for the sister-gripe: Your Spelling Causes Me Great Angst.

Please, people; for the love of everything holy and humble, please self-check your work, especially if it is to be broadcast on a billboard. I know the manual marquee doesn’t have a built-in spell-check, but you can still phone a friend for help, or even (gasp!) open a dictionary. Hell, my cell phone even has the capability of looking words up for spelling. Please help this world be a better place and spell things correctly!

~M

Retro re-post of the day: Last Days of Summer (literally).

One thought on “Angry American (or, Get it Right)

  1. That’s just embarrassing. I bet the manager did it! I get really irritated by horrendous spelling. People are just too lazy to check anything for themselves. They’re even too lazy to lean over and ask someone next to them for verification.

Leave a Reply

