Home

The summer ‘itch’ is here. I’m not talking about some contagion or visit from relatives. I’m talking about my episodic unsettled existence.

I’m restless. I want something to do [this is a nearly oxymoronic statement, as I generally work 50-60 hours per week, serve actively on three non-profit boards, play soccer regularly, and train for and compete in triathlons]. I need a new direction.

My smattering of recent retail therapy is just a diversion.

And this happens pretty much annually, as a dear friend pointed out, when mid-summer roles around. She also pointed out that last year I bought a car. She cautioned against doing anything so substantial this year.

But do other, otherwise completely content people, get this itch? Perhaps yours comes bi-annually? Or in the winter? Or without pattern? But what is it that drives us to seek some radical change in our lives? Why can’t I be happy with the status quo? Is this normal? Healthy?

I romanticize this sometimes and think that by following the itch, grand adventures (or at least some story) will follow. I would like to think this true.

I contemplated dying my hair this year. [Two years ago I cut 13 inches off it in July]. But I also don’t feel this will satiate my yearning. Suffice to say, I haven’t quite figured out what will scratch the itch this year. I’m hoping I don’t end up with real estate.

~M

Retro re-post of the day: Butterfly Effect.

2 thoughts on “Buck the Status Quo (or, Periodic Itch)

  1. Oh how I understand! I get that way every six months, I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I think I need to get married and have babies. Lmao. No it’s not that…*sigh*

    I dunno what it is and please don’t end up with real estate!!! Hahha.

Leave a Reply

