Home

Over the life of TMM, I have pondered this holiday we celebrate tomorrow. I have observed people’s celebrations, I have reflected on the meaning, and I have noted political correctness taking over. This year, I see something brewing.

From the Mitten to the Gulf, I have been the recipient of several “Merry Christmas” tidings from unknown people in my path. From the commercial cable salesman to the grocery check-out lady, each has looked me directly in the eye, and without hesitation, wished me a Merry Christmas. And as one person near me asked around me: “Are you allowed to say that in here [the grocery store]?” The clerk replied that she was pleased that she was allowed to say what she felt.

I am okay with this. In fact, I am pleased to receive this. By a self-described poll, more than 3/4 of Americans identify themselves as “Christian” (in whatever form it may take). The next largest group (16%) are atheist or agnostic. And Jewish and Muslim make up less than 2% combined.

So, yes, I am okay with perfect strangers wishing me “Merry Christmas.” As my father has pointed out, it’s still the national holiday in late December. Nothing else in this month is recognized as a national holiday (New Year’s excepted). And I hope this is a trend that continues in years to come. I am glad to have one of my holidays back.

So, thank you. Thank you to the garbage collector, who left a Christmas card at my house. Thank you to the cable salesman with whom I’ve been negotiating a contract for several months. Thank you to the grocery clerk and the bagger. Thank you to the cell phone store manager. Thank you to the stranger in the store. Thank you all for your heartfelt wishes of a happy Christmas season. I appreciate this, and wish you a very Merry Christmas, in return.

~M

Leave a Reply

