Home

I had a strange dream last night. Well, on average, I would say that most dreams qualify as “strange.” But this one was too close to reality for comfort. But not in a bad way.

I know, I seemingly have contradicted myself multiple times there, but walk with me on this: the dream took place in a general place I have been (the city/state, but not the particular establishment), and involved significant people I know (but not out of the ordinary… it was a group of my friends who would generally hang out together). But then next turn of events is what struck me. The people in the dream did something to me that I’ve been thinking about for a few weeks. Well, to be accurate, they did the first of this action, but stopped themselves and walked away. I know, your mind is running wild now, I’m sure, but rest assured that it’s not something bad that the people were doing. Nor was it risque, or gross, or anything else. It was actually a very sentimental gesture. But they stopped immediately before the climax.

And it’s nearly 9pm and I can still remember this dream crystal clear.

So here’s where my mind is going tonight:
1. Do dreams play a part in foreshadowing events?
2. What does it mean when the event in the dream goes unfinished?
3. Why can I never remember most dreams 5 minutes after I wake up, but this one is still with me 15 hours later?

Let’s start with the foreshadowing. I have, on a few very distinct and notable occassions, had the deja vu feeling. Most often, the feeling experience precedes the actual event by a few years. One, for example, was standing at the top of the hill where our house is, on the east side between the pear trees, looking out over the lake. It’s seemingly innocuous. I have stood there many times. But when the initial vision came to me, I was not by the pear trees. I always sort of laughed that I must have been a squirrel in a past life and had seen that.  But then one day, a few years ago, there I was. The moment literally struck me as I stood there by the pear trees and I knew that was the vision.  I have another one going right now that scares me. Since I am inclined to not tempt fate, I will simply say that I cannot sleep with my hair down right now. Period.  But what about foreshadowing? Some people profess to be able to see into the future. That may be another blog sometime. But for now, I wonder, do we “normal” people periodically get that future glimpse? Like a brief peek into our lives. Was this dream part of one?

Okay, so what about the meaning? One of my law school girlfriends, Virginia, and I have spoken about this. She is quite a believer in the interpretation of dreams. She explained that the falling one means something. The airplane crash one means something. And on. Of course, I can’t remember what these each were (and the meaning is actually unrelated to the event dreamed). So I wonder… what did this event mean? And more importantly, what does it mean that the doers of the event stopped it at the most crucial point?

And I can’t even hazard a guess as to why I still remember this one. I have done nothing extraordinary but think about it a few times today. Granted, I try to think about other dreams when I wake from them, but they never last. This one won’t seem to go away. So why?

I have successfully changed a dream before. I have woken myself from dreams. But last night’s is causing quite a bit of consternation. …

One thought on “What Does It All Mean?

  1. Pingback: Relationship Rant #2 (or, Happily Until Then) « Thursday Morning Meditations

Leave a Reply

