Home

So X, like other reader-friends of mine, is only mildly afraid that I will reference (X) in a blog, or even worse… blog about X. First, I stated that “everyone gets a nickname, therefore nobody will know who you are, X.” Second, if you ask me not to, I won’t blog about you. Suffice to say, X will get a better nickname later. That is, if X let’s me reference (X) in later blogs.

But this isn’t a blog about X.

This is a blog about surprises. Which happened to be inspired by X. [See, X? Being referenced isn’t always a bad thing.]

X has some major surprises up the sleeves. Some are as near as this weekend, others are a few months down the road in the form of a best friend’s pre-wedding party. But X likes to lead on the people who will partake of the surprise. A hint here. A taste of deviousness there. It’s really awfully fun and the anticipation is rather exciting.

If you’re into that sort of thing. Some people, from what I understand, are not. Some people much prefer to: (a) either know fully what she will be getting into before she crosses that juncture, or (b) not be surprised at all, or at least not led on with hints.

I’m neither of those categories. I enjoy surprises. Good ones, anyway. I’m talking relatively strictly about the good/fun/enjoyable planned ones… not the scary/saddening/depressing ones.  And the hints and leads make it all the more fun. It’s almost like a game. And the best player is usually the one laying the surprise who can effectively give hints without allowing the surprise to be ruined.  As X said yesterday, it’s a lot like being a kid on Christmas day with all those presents, not knowing what’s in store.

In fact, one of my favorite surprises was one that I had laid. Mom and I threw a “roast” for Dad for his 60th birthday. It was in the works for close to a year. Friends and family came in from all over the country. It was huge. Mom and I coordinated for it to be a “surprise party.” Not one of the 300 people who came let it slip. And then, on January 10th, 2004, Dad walked in to the surprise of his life: friends and family cheering (and jeering) him for hours. But this surprise had no hints… no allusion… no lead up. It was a true surprise.

It’s fun to lay the surprises and see the excited, beaming outcome of the participant.

But someone asked me a few weeks back about a different sort of surprise…one that is more akin to Dad’s party than the hint and lead kind. I was asked if I would like to know when or how (or both) I am going to die.  I think, like my stance on other surprises, that this is one surprise that should remain just that…a surprise. I don’t think I want to know anything about it. I expect I would focus relentlessly on it if I knew and miss a great deal of life worth living otherwise. Some surprises aren’t meant to be known, or even hinted about. Some surprises aren’t meant to be “ruined.”

But like a kid on Christmas day, or Dad on his 60th, surprises make life more entertaining and enjoyable. Surprises remind us that someone is thinking about you, at least long enough to plot and scheme…whether it’s as small as leaving a favorite piece of candy by your car keys, or as big as a 60th birthday roast. And from the surprising end, I can’t think of much more pleasure than seeing that person’s face light up when the surprise comes to fruition.

“The moments of happiness we enjoy take us by surprise. It’s not that we seize them, but that they seize us.” ~Ashley Montagu

One thought on “Surprises (or, a Kid … Still)

  1. Pingback: Housekeeping: Retro Re-Post Recap « Thursday Morning Meditations

Leave a Reply

