Home

Most sincerest apologies for my absence last week. Every once in a while, a girl just needs time for herself. And so without further delay…

While in the car the other morning, the guys on the radio tossed out an interesting, if not eye-opening, figure: some 40 million Americans have used an online dating service (nearly 40% of the single population).  The guys had some other statistics about how many of those online daters had found a long-term relationship (something like 36%, I think), and whatnot. But with Valentine’s Day less than a week away, this seemed like a good time to confess.

Yes, my friends have frequently reminded me that I am not in such a bad spot right now… Residual and Cowboy both making my heart twitter? But somewhere between frustration and fear (and the fact that neither have effectively stepped up to bat and taken a committed swing), I went out on a limb (with complete encouragement from JP) and made a profile. And then I found myself “winking.” Then an e-mail came.

New Guy opened with “Sorry, I don’t bother with the wink thing. …”
“Gutsy,” I thought. Followed by, “Good looking picture.”

A few e-mails later, we exchanged numbers and proceeded with caution. Needless to say, we have had 3 dates and have numbers 4 and 5 scheduled. In fact, there is a good possibility he will be meeting 2 of the girlfriends this weekend (following my meeting a strong contingent of his friends at a Super Bowl party this weekend [Sorry L, the whole time-zone and spatial relation thing persuaded me to watch the game in Michigan]).

This is new territory for me. In fact, I was quite possibly one of the biggest skeptics about online dating. And I still feel there’s a stigma… I have a very hard time actually saying “I met him online” to people. Luckily, I usually fairly successfully divert the question or simply avoid it all together.

But is it a sign of the changing times? Do our obscenely busy lives preclude us from treading water in the “normal” dating pool? Or in our compulsively antsy need-to-know ways, do we want to see as many options as are available with as many “facts” as possible up front? Or does it stem from something a little more primitive… like the compulsion to find “the one”?

Whatever it may be, I’m on an adventure. And so far, so good.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of an Online Adventure

  1. Pingback: Thursday Morning Meditations

  2. Pingback: Love of the Team (or, Bring Back the Bad Boys) « Thursday Morning Meditations

Leave a Reply

