Home

Dodge is encouraging us to “Grab Life By the Horns.” And sometimes you just have to live. Well, I think it’s time for an adventure.

With less than 48 hours (a lot closer to 36, in fact), I booked a trip to New Mexico for New Years, returning from Dallas a week later. I’m leaving Friday, 9am. Was this spontaneous? Hell yes. Am I crazy? Maybe. But sometimes you just have to take a leap.

Mark Twain was once quoted with, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

I think this is my time to throw off the proverbial bowlines. In less than a week and a half, I will be starting my new job [yes, news flash! I’m in-house with a great company doing a lot of general business and development work, with what legal work needs to be done along the way], and after half a year of sitting idly by, I am setting off on a small adventure.

But this is not about my craziness. It really is about spontaneity in general. What holds us back from doing what we want? Other than money (which, concededly at this point in our collective lives is usually a big one), it is we who hold ourselves back from life.

My summer roommate/mental savior could be offering this lesson too. She is one who will take that trip alone because she wants to go somewhere and see what it’s about. She is strong and lives without reservation. For her, I give much credit because she is living.

So this is my challenge to you, my readers: be spontaneous. You don’t have to buy a crazy ticket half-way across the country to accomplish this. Instead, do something out of the ordinary. Fly by the seat of your pants. Live without regrets.

Life without reservation.

One thought on “Pony Up (or, Life Without Reservation)

  1. Pingback: Does it Matter? (Or, Mix ‘N Match) « Thursday Morning Meditations

Leave a Reply

