Home

All apologies for the sabbatical this week. It’s not like I didn’t have anything to write about. Oh, I do. Everything from “long distance relationships” to “‘you’re perfect'” to “Holidays with the new family” are all on my burners right now. … But it’s no excuse. And I apologize. So here’s a less than saucy or scandalous blog this week, but one that is entirely timely at this time of the year.
________________________________________________

Ok. So I am totally expounding on something CES broached earlier this week. And I have to give credit where credit is due. So to piggyback off her point: where the hell did customer service go?

I mean seriously, people. What happened to the mantra “the customer is always right?” Trust me; I’ve worked in retail and I’ve dealt with the lady who bought the product last week, “used it once,” and it’s now looking like last year’s favorite item. But seriously. You deal with those people with a smile.

Former Texas governor Ann Richards could give a lesson in this. You knock ’em down, you criticize their work, and you do it with the biggest darned smile on your face possible. And this applies to the world of customer service.

I’m sorry people behind the counter, or on the other end of the phone, but it is your job to deal with me. This is “customer service.” This isn’t “make the company feel better” or “turn away a repeat customer” or “piss off a prospective buyer.” This is “do your damnedest to right the wrong!”

And I’m not saying every customer is right. But at the end of the day, at least *try* to see what you can do to remedy his or her problem. And sure, from the retail end, the handful of ridiculous customers who “never used the item” ruin it in the end for the rest of us, but that’s beside the point. At least make an effort to make me walk away thinking I *might* come back here again.

And on a totally random aside, please speak clearly. If you are foreign, I’m grateful you are holding down a job and paying taxes, but I would like to know if you are “Steve” or “Saheeb” on the other end of the phone. So, as a native English speaker, please bear with me when I can’t understand your accent on the English language; I’m really not mad at you, I just want to know why my Dell printer keeps asking me to insert banner paper instead of regular sheets and how I can fix it at the end of the day.

One thought on “No, We Can’t Do That.

  1. Pingback: Does it Matter? (Or, Mix ‘N Match) « Thursday Morning Meditations

Leave a Reply

