Home

If a song lyric could be any more accurate, I haven’t found one. The current verse that keeps running through my head is Martina McBride’s:

This is for all you girls about twenty-five
In a little apartment, just trying to get by
Living on, on dreams and spaghetti-o’s
Wondering where your life is gonna go

This is something to which I can relate. I am on the eve of graduation from law school, without a visible source of income following the bar exam, and a large question mark in “the 5-year plan.”

“The 5-year plan” came out today in an interview with a firm in the Detroit area. I suppose I can only paint a picture and see what happens, because heaven only knows that *I* don’t know what’s in “the 5-year plan.”

But until “the 5-year plan” unfolds, the next five months are daunting. I will be sitting on a professional degree, hopefully a Michigan bar membership, and effectively selling lingerie once again at Marshall Fields.

And it really all comes down to money. Without having any, so to speak, to start out with, I feel that I am on the verge of being lost in the world. It’s just about finding that first job and starting to make ends meet. Because for the next five months, ends aren’t meeting.

But in three years from now, none of this will matter. By then I should have found something, I should be practicing and well on my way in life. And this scary-broke-money-thing will be behind me.

Until then, my world is very small and a bit scary. And I’m ready for “the 5-year plan” to kick in at any time.

Leave a Reply

